26 UW–Madison students offered NSF GRFP awards

The National Science Foundation (NSF) announced the 2024 awards in its Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP), a prestigious and competitive fellowship that helps support outstanding graduate research across the country.

Of those offered awards, 19 are currently UW–Madison graduate students. Seven current UW–Madison undergraduates were also offered the award for their graduate study. Additionally, 33 UW–Madison students were recognized with honorable mentions from NSF.

UW–Madison strongly encourages senior undergraduates and early-career graduate students to apply to this fellowship.

The 2024 UW–Madison graduate student awardees and their proposed field of study are:

  • Abigail Cordiner, Biomedical Engineering
  • Brian Foster, Sustainable Chemistry
  • Rory Greenhalgh, Genetics
  • David Hardy, Chemical Catalysis
  • Angel Hernandez Viera, Microbial Biology
  • Samuel Johnstone, Chemical Engineering
  • James Kosmopoulos, Microbial Biology
  • Zach Lewis, Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Joyce Lin, Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Marcus Lindsey, Biophysics
  • Shaan Nagy, Formal Methods, Verification, and Programming Languages
  • Selymar Pena-Rivera, Microbial Biology
  • Charles Smith, Economics
  • James Summers, Hydrology
  • Ebony Taylor, Ecology
  • Joseph Walston, Systematics and Biodiversity
  • Mallory Wilson, Chemistry of Life Processes
  • Jackson Wysocki, Chemistry of Life Processes
  • Skye Xollo, Sociology

The UW-Madison undergraduate awardees and their proposed field of study are:

  • Joshua Baston, Metallic Materials
  • Eric Dubberstein, Computer Architecture
  • Andrew Engedal, Mathematical Biology
  • Amory Griffin, Chemical Synthesis
  • William Jarvis, Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Brooke Kotten, Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Lucille Steffes, Astronomy and Astrophysics

Learn more about the Graduate Research Fellowship Program.