Program Changes and Governance


For purposes of research and academic responsibilities, all departments and programs offering graduate degrees are grouped into four academic divisions: Arts and Humanities, Biological Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Studies. Each division elects a divisional executive committee and members of the Graduate Faculty Executive Committee (GFEC).

The division is independent of the schools or colleges. A division draws faculty, departments, and programs from more than one school or college.

Divisional Executive Committee

The executive committee for each of the four academic divisions (Arts and Humanities, Biological Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Studies) advises about tenure appointments and other matters of personnel, educational policy, and selection of personnel to serve on various committees.