University of Wisconsin–Madison

Contacts

Oak leaves and Bascom Hall

Graduate School Office

608-262-2433 | gsacserv@grad.wisc.edu
217 Bascom Hall, 500 Lincoln Drive, Madison, WI 53706
Hours of Operation: 7:45am–4:30pm
Front Desk Walk-In Hours: 10am–3pm

Office of the Dean

Dean William J. Karpus
Al Joranlien, Assistant to the Dean
608-263-1353 | graduateschooldean@grad.wisc.edu

Associate Dean Lisa Martin
608-262-0560 | lisa.martin@wisc.edu

Associate Dean Parmesh Ramanathan
608-263-0557 | parmesh.ramanathan@wisc.edu

OFFICE OF ACADEMIC ANALYSIS, PLANNING AND ASSESSMENT

The Office of Academic Planning and Assessment plays a critical role in the perpetuation of high quality graduate programs, and in turn, in the successful research enterprise on campus. The unit has two core functions: academic planning and program review, and data analytics and reporting.

OFFICE OF ACADEMIC SERVICES

The Office of Academic Services serves as a campus resource to promote and facilitate excellence in graduate education for current graduate students, from the time of matriculation until conferral of the graduate degree, as well as to those faculty and staff across campus who also support them during this time.

  • Contacts

    Graduate Academic Services
    217 Bascom Hall
    608-262-2433
    gsacserv@grad.wisc.edu

    Michelle Holland
    Director of Academic Services
    217 Bascom Hall
    608-265-0519
    michelle.holland@wisc.edu

    Kimberly Bauer
    Academic Leadership Project Assistant
    217 Bascom Hall
    kabauer4@wisc.edu

    Katie Block
    Academic Services Coordinator
    217 Bascom Hall
    608-262-9209
    katelyn.block@wisc.edu

    Elena Hsu
    Degree Coordinator
    228 Bascom Hall
    Master’s and Professional Degrees, Special Committee Degrees, Dual/Joint/Double Degrees, Big Ten Academic Alliance Traveling Scholars, Degree Completion fee
    608-890-2739
    elena.hsu@wisc.edu

    Alexandra Walter
    Degree Coordinator
    228 Bascom Hall
    PhD Degrees, extensions, electronic thesis deposit, dissertator status
    608-262-3011
    alexandra.walter@wisc.edu

OFFICE OF ADMISSIONS

The Office of Admissions is usually the first interaction that an applicant has with the Graduate School. The office partners with 150 academic programs to process approximately 20,000 applications annually.  It is a resource for applicants, students, faculty and academic programs throughout the admissions process, from prospect through matriculation.

  • Contacts

    Graduate Admissions
    232 Bascom Hall
    500 Lincoln Dr
    Madison, WI 53706

    608-262-2433 (Phone)
    608-265-9505 (Fax)
    admissions@grad.wisc.edu

    Judy Bauman
    Director of Admissions
    227 Bascom Hall
    608-262-0735
    judy.bauman@wisc.edu

    Kimberly Bauer
    Academic Leadership Project Assistant
    217 Bascom Hall
    kabauer4@wisc.edu

    Rebecca Chapman
    Senior Student Status Examiner
    Admissions Specialist for applicants with family names starting with the letters A-H
    232 Bascom Hall
    608-262-6749
    rebecca.chapman@wisc.edu

    Kasey Fiske
    Senior Student Status Examiner
    Admissions Specialist for applicants with family names starting with the letters P-Z
    232 Bascom Hall
    608-262-8811
    kasey.fiske@wisc.edu

    Debbie Klimek
    Senior Student Status Examiner
    Admissions Specialist for applicants with family names starting with the letters I through O
    232 Bascom Hall
    608-890-0318
    debbie.klimek@wisc.edu

    Randy Tackett
    International Examiner
    232 Bascom Hall
    608-262-0805
    randall.tackett@wisc.edu

OFFICE OF DIVERSITY, INCLUSION AND FUNDING

The Office of Diversity, Inclusion and Funding plays a central role in creating an inclusive and multicultural educational landscape through the retention and recruitment of diverse students, especially those of domestic minority and low-income/first generation college backgrounds. The unit oversees the Graduate School’s fellowship and funding competitions, serves as the coordinating unit for external fellowships, and provides assistance on campus-wide funding issues.

  • Contacts

    LaRuth McAfee, Ph.D.
    Assistant Dean, Diversity, Inclusion and Funding, and Director, Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program
    229 Bascom Hall
    608-265-2906
    laruth.mcafee@wisc.edu

    Dana-María Baldwin
    Graduate Student Advisor, Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program
    408 Bascom Hall
    608-262-0631
    dana-maria.baldwin@wisc.edu

    Irina Diaz
    Fellowship, Funding and Diversity Initiatives Coordinator
    231 Bascom Hall
    608-890-0738
    irina.diaz@wisc.edu

    Cassandra Rademaekers
    Fellowship Director
    231 Bascom Hall
    608-265-5522
    cassandra.rademaekers@wisc.edu

    Kathryn Thomas
    Multicultural Graduate Network Coordinator
    407A Bascom Hall
    608-890-4731
    mgn@grad.wisc.edu

    Vacant
    Associate Director, Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program
    408 Bascom Hall
    608-263-5517

OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS

The Office of Professional Development and Communications coordinates, develops, and promotes learning opportunities to foster the academic and professional skills of graduate students. It also supports the various communication platforms of the Graduate School, including website, social media, and print materials.

  • Contacts

    Alissa Ewer
    Assistant Dean, Office of Professional Development and Communications
    209 Bascom
    608-262-9970
    alissa.ewer@wisc.edu

    Eileen Callahan
    Director of Professional Development
    223 Bascom
    608-262-6133
    eileen.callahan@wisc.edu

    Meghan Chua
    Communications Specialist
    225 Bascom Hall
    608-262-1799
    meghan.chua@wisc.edu

    Taylor Dorlack
    Higher Education Leadership Project Assistant
    407A Bascom
    608-265-9704
    pa1@grad.wisc.edu

    Amy Fruchtman
    Assistant Director of Professional Development
    225 Bascom
    608-265-9078
    amy.fruchtman@wisc.edu

    Britney Wagner
    Higher Learning Leadership Project Assistant
    407A Bascom Hall
    608-265-9704
    pa2@grad.wisc.edu

    Matthew Zinsli
    Higher Education Leadership Project Assistant
    407C Bascom
    608-265-9704
    pa3@grad.wisc.edu