Contacts

Graduate School Office

608-262-2433 | gsacserv@grad.wisc.edu
217 Bascom Hall, 500 Lincoln Drive, Madison, WI 53706

Front Desk Hours:
Monday – Friday
9 am – 4 pm (September – April)
Summer Hours:
10 am – 3 pm (May – August)

Oak leaves and Bascom Hall

Office of the Dean

William KarpusDean William J. Karpus

Marcy CarlsonAssociate Dean Marcy Carlson
608-262-0560
carlson@ssc.wisc.edu

Beth MeyerandAssociate Dean Beth Meyerand
memeyerand@wisc.edu

Rachel IrvingRachel Irving, Executive Assistant to the Dean
608-263-1353
dean@grad.wisc.edu

Florence HsiaAssociate Dean Florence Hsia
608-262-1044
fchsia@wisc.edu

Office of Academic Analysis, Planning and Assessment

The Office of Academic Analysis, Planning and Assessment plays a critical role in the perpetuation of high quality graduate programs, and in turn, in the successful research enterprise on campus. The unit has two core functions: academic planning and program review, and data analytics and reporting.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts in the Office of Academic Analysis, Planning and Assessment

Contact the Data Office
data@grad.wisc.edu

Jenna AlsteenJenna Alsteen
Assistant Dean for Academic Analysis, Planning and Assessment
225 Bascom Hall
608-890-2291
jenna.alsteen@wisc.edu

Lorena KemenLorena Kemen
Academic Planner
217 Bascom Hall
608-263-7565
lkemen@wisc.edu

Peter Kinsley

Peter Kinsley
Senior Research and Policy Analyst
231A Bascom Hall
608-262-9597
peter.kinsley@wisc.edu

Nick SigmundNick Sigmund
Research and Policy Analyst
231A Bascom Hall
608-262-4959
nick.sigmund@wisc.edu

Office of Academic Services

The Office of Academic Services serves as a campus resource to promote and facilitate excellence in graduate education for current graduate students, from the time of matriculation until conferral of the graduate degree, as well as to those faculty and staff across campus who also support them during this time.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts in the Office of Academic Services

Graduate Academic Services
228 Bascom Hall
608-262-2433
gsacserv@grad.wisc.edu

Kipp Cox
Assistant Dean for Academic Services
217 Bascom Hall
ervin.cox@wisc.edu

Elaine Goetz-BermanElaine Goetz-Berman
Graduate Student Assistance Specialist
70 Bascom Hall
608-263-5700
egoetz2@wisc.edu

Elena HsuElena Hsu
Graduate Degree Coordinator
232 Bascom Hall
Master’s and Professional Degrees, Special Committee Degrees, Dual/Joint/Double Degrees, Big Ten Academic Alliance Traveling Scholars, Degree Completion fee
608-890-2739, elena.hsu@wisc.edu

Laura Linde
Student Records and Curricular Specialist
232 Bascom Hall
608-265-3544
llinde@wisc.edu

Xania WalterAlexandra Walter
Graduate Degree Coordinator
232 Bascom Hall
PhD Degrees, extensions, electronic thesis deposit, dissertator status
608-262-3011
alexandra.walter@wisc.edu

Office of Admissions

The Office of Admissions is usually the first interaction that an applicant has with the Graduate School. The office partners with more than 260 academic programs to process approximately 21,000 applications annually.  It is a resource for applicants, students, faculty, and academic programs throughout the admissions process, from prospect through matriculation.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts in the Office of Admissions

Graduate Admissions
232 Bascom Hall
500 Lincoln Dr
Madison, WI 53706

608-262-2433 (Phone)
Applicants and students: Email admissions@grad.wisc.edu
UW–Madison faculty and staff: Email admissionstaff@grad.wisc.edu

Katie BourassaKatie Bourassa
Associate Director of Admissions
227 Bascom Hall
608-262-0805
katie.bourassa@wisc.edu

Benjamin KilnessBenjamin Kilness
Admissions Business Analyst
232 Bascom Hall
608-265-6951
kilness@wisc.edu

Debbie KlimekDebbie Klimek
Application Review Specialist
232 Bascom Hall
608-890-0318
debbie.klimek@wisc.edu

Laura Linde
Student Records and Curricular Specialist
232 Bascom Hall
608-265-3544
llinde@wisc.edu

Eric LynneEric Lynne
Admissions Business Analyst
232 Bascom Hall
608-262-8811
elynne@wisc.edu

Austen VizcarraAusten Vizcarra
Applications Developer
232 Bascom Hall
ajvizcarra@wisc.edu

Delta Program

The Delta Program engages graduate students and postdocs in professional development in teaching, mentoring, outreach, and advising.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts in the Delta Program

Contact the Delta Program:
info@delta.wisc.edu

Jessica MaherJessica Maher
Associate Director of Delta
445 Henry Mall, Room 307
608-261-1180
jessica.maher@wisc.edu

Jules WhitakerJules Whitaker
Research Mentor Training Specialist
445 Henry Mall
jawhitak@wisc.edu

Faculty Co-Directors

Dante Fratta
Associate Professor of Geological Engineering and Civil & Environmental Engineering
fratta@wisc.edu

Bob Mathieu
Albert E. Whitford and Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor of Astronomy
rmathieu@wisc.edu

Trina McMahon
Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Bacteriology
tmcmahon@engr.wisc.edu

Office of Diversity, Inclusion and Funding

The Office of Diversity, Inclusion and Funding plays a central role in creating an inclusive and multicultural educational landscape through the retention and recruitment of diverse students, especially those of domestic minority and low-income/first generation college backgrounds. The unit oversees the Graduate School’s fellowship and funding competitions, serves as the coordinating unit for external fellowships, and provides assistance on campus-wide funding issues.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts in the Office of Diversity, Inclusion and Funding

Contact the Graduate School’s fellowships office:
funding@grad.wisc.edu

Abbey Thompson
Assistant Dean, Diversity, Inclusion and Funding
229 Bascom Hall
608-263-5517
abbey.thompson@wisc.edu

Douachong LeeDouachong Lee
Multicultural Initiatives Manager
231 Bascom Hall
608-890-4731
douachong.lee@wisc.edu

Laura Linde
Student Records and Curricular Specialist
232 Bascom Hall
608-265-3544
llinde@wisc.edu

Irina Diaz
Fellowship Manager
231 Bascom Hall
608-264-3351
irina.diaz@wisc.edu

Office of Professional Development and Communications

The Office of Professional Development and Communications coordinates, develops, and promotes learning opportunities to foster the academic and professional skills of graduate students. It also supports the various communication platforms of the Graduate School, including website, social media, and print materials.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts in the Office of Professional Development and Communications

Alissa EwerAlissa Ewer
Assistant Dean, Office of Professional Development and Communications
217 Bascom Hall
608-262-9970
alissa.ewer@wisc.edu

Eileen CallahanEileen Callahan
Director of Professional Development
223 Bascom Hall
608-262-6133
eileen.callahan@wisc.edu

Meghan ChuaMeghan Chua
Communications Specialist
228 Bascom Hall
608-262-1799
meghan.chua@wisc.edu

Foram Gathia
Higher Education Leadership Project Assistant

Luke Stavedahl
Higher Education Leadership Project Assistant

Skye Xollo
Higher Education Leadership Project Assistant