Contacts

Graduate School Office

608-262-2433 | gsacserv@grad.wisc.edu
217 Bascom Hall, 500 Lincoln Drive, Madison, WI 53706
Hours of Operation: 7:45am–4:30pm
Front Desk Walk-In Hours: 10am–3pm

Oak leaves and Bascom Hall

Office of the Dean

William KarpusDean William J. Karpus

Lisa MartinAssociate Dean Lisa Martin
608-262-0560
lisa.martin@wisc.edu

Parmesh RamanathanAssociate Dean Parmesh Ramanathan
608-263-0557
parmesh.ramanathan@wisc.edu

Amy BergholzAmy Bergholz, Executive Assistant to the Dean
608-263-1353
graduateschooldean@grad.wisc.edu

Florence HsiaAssociate Dean Florence Hsia
608-262-1044
fchsia@wisc.edu

Christopher YueChristopher Yue
Special Projects Coordinator
608-263-5517
christopher.yue@wisc.edu

OFFICE OF ACADEMIC ANALYSIS, PLANNING AND ASSESSMENT

The Office of Academic Analysis, Planning and Assessment plays a critical role in the perpetuation of high quality graduate programs, and in turn, in the successful research enterprise on campus. The unit has two core functions: academic planning and program review, and data analytics and reporting.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts

Vacant
Assistant Dean, Academic Analysis, Planning and Assessment

Peter Kinsley

Peter Kinsley
Policy and Planning Analyst
231A Bascom Hall
608-262-9597
peter.kinsley@wisc.edu

Emily ReynoldsEmily Reynolds
Academic Planning Specialist
231A Bascom Hall
608-890-3419
emily.reynolds@wisc.edu

Nick SigmundNick Sigmund
Policy and Planning Analyst
231A Bascom Hall
608-262-1086
nick.sigmund@wisc.edu

A.J. Meinig
Academic Planning Project Assistant

Maria Mertzenich
Graduate Student Tracking System Project Assistant

Eunji You
Academic Leadership Project Assistant

OFFICE OF ACADEMIC SERVICES

The Office of Academic Services serves as a campus resource to promote and facilitate excellence in graduate education for current graduate students, from the time of matriculation until conferral of the graduate degree, as well as to those faculty and staff across campus who also support them during this time.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts

Graduate Academic Services
217 Bascom Hall
608-262-2433
gsacserv@grad.wisc.edu

Amy KuetherAmy Kuether
Director of Academic Services
217 Bascom Hall
608-265-0519
amy.kuether@wisc.edu

Elena HsuElena Hsu
Degree Coordinator
217 Bascom Hall
Master’s and Professional Degrees, Special Committee Degrees, Dual/Joint/Double Degrees, Big Ten Academic Alliance Traveling Scholars, Degree Completion fee
608-890-2739, elena.hsu@wisc.edu

Xania WalterAlexandra Walter
Degree Coordinator
217 Bascom Hall
PhD Degrees, extensions, electronic thesis deposit, dissertator status
608-262-3011
alexandra.walter@wisc.edu

Dana Maltby
Academic Services Project Assistant

Eunji You
Academic Leadership Project Assistant

Vacant
Academic Services Coordinator
217 Bascom Hall
608-262-9209

OFFICE OF ADMISSIONS

The Office of Admissions is usually the first interaction that an applicant has with the Graduate School. The office partners with 150 academic programs to process approximately 20,000 applications annually.  It is a resource for applicants, students, faculty and academic programs throughout the admissions process, from prospect through matriculation.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts

Graduate Admissions
217 Bascom Hall
500 Lincoln Dr
Madison, WI 53706

608-262-2433 (Phone)
608-265-9505 (Fax)
admissions@grad.wisc.edu

Judy Bauman

Judy Bauman
Director of Admissions
227 Bascom Hall
608-262-0735
judy.bauman@wisc.edu

Rebecca ChapmanRebecca Chapman
Associate Student Services Coordinator
Admissions Specialist for applicants with family names starting with the letters A-H
217 Bascom Hall
608-262-6749, rebecca.chapman@wisc.edu

Kasey FiskeKasey Fiske
Senior Student Status Examiner
Admissions Specialist for applicants with family names starting with the letters P-Z
217 Bascom Hall
608-262-8811, kasey.fiske@wisc.edu

Debbie KlimekDebbie Klimek
Senior Student Status Examiner
Admissions Specialist for applicants with family names starting with the letters I through O
217 Bascom Hall
608-890-0318, debbie.klimek@wisc.edu

Randy TackettRandy Tackett
International Examiner
217 Bascom Hall
608-262-0805
randall.tackett@wisc.edu

Eunji You
Academic Leadership Project Assistant

OFFICE OF DIVERSITY, INCLUSION AND FUNDING

The Office of Diversity, Inclusion and Funding plays a central role in creating an inclusive and multicultural educational landscape through the retention and recruitment of diverse students, especially those of domestic minority and low-income/first generation college backgrounds. The unit oversees the Graduate School’s fellowship and funding competitions, serves as the coordinating unit for external fellowships, and provides assistance on campus-wide funding issues.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts

LaRuth McAfeeLaRuth McAfee, PhD
Assistant Dean, Diversity, Inclusion and Funding
229 Bascom Hall
608-265-2906
laruth.mcafee@wisc.edu

Richard Sims
Fellowship, Funding and Diversity Initiatives Coordinator
231 Bascom Hall
608-890-0738
richard.sims@wisc.edu

Amanda Malzacher
Project Assistant

Tania Mancilla
Multicultural Graduate Network Coordinator/Project Assistant
407A Bascom Hall
608-890-4731
mgn@grad.wisc.edu

Vacant
Fellowship Director
231 Bascom Hall

OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS

The Office of Professional Development and Communications coordinates, develops, and promotes learning opportunities to foster the academic and professional skills of graduate students. It also supports the various communication platforms of the Graduate School, including website, social media, and print materials.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Contacts

Alissa EwerAlissa Ewer
Assistant Dean, Office of Professional Development and Communications
209 Bascom Hall
608-262-9970
alissa.ewer@wisc.edu

Eileen CallahanEileen Callahan
Director of Professional Development
223 Bascom Hall
608-262-6133
eileen.callahan@wisc.edu

Meghan ChuaMeghan Chua
Communications Specialist
225 Bascom Hall
608-262-1799
meghan.chua@wisc.edu

Amy FruchtmanAmy Fruchtman
Assistant Director of Professional Development
225 Bascom Hall
608-265-9078
amy.fruchtman@wisc.edu

Lydia Gandy-Fastovich
Higher Education Leadership Project Assistant

Kirby Livingston
Higher Education Leadership Project Assistant

Matthew Zinsli
Higher Education Leadership Project Assistant