Graduate Research Fellowship Program

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) provides three years of financial support for graduate study.  It aims to keep the nation a global leader in advancing science and engineering research and innovation.  Recipients receive a $34,000 annual stipend and $12,000 education allowance from NSF, plus the UW-Madison Graduate School contributes toward fringe benefits.

“The NSF-Graduate Research Fellows Program is a highly competitive award that draws from student talent across the nation,” states Graduate School Dean William J. Karpus.  “The program leads to great outcomes.  Awardees not only benefit from the financial support of the fellowship, but also have the long-term benefit of becoming more competitive for future funding and gaining access to opportunities for research collaboration and professional development through NSF programs.”

The fellowship is awarded to individuals in the early stages of their graduate study, who intend to pursue research-based graduate studies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). Fellows are free to use their fellowship at any university, college, or non-profit academic institution of higher education accredited in, and having a campus located in, the United States, its territories, or possessions, or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico that grants a graduate degree in STEM fields.

Fellowship Benefits

  • Five year fellowship period with three years of financial support
  • Annual stipend of $34,000
  • Cost of Education allowance of $12,000 to the institution
  • Professional development opportunities (GRIP and GROW)
  • XSEDE supercomputer access for Fellows and honorable mentions
  • No service requirement
  • Access to supplemental funding to sustain research while on medical deferral (e.g. maternity/paternity leave)

Read more about this competitive fellowship at the NSF website.

In total, the NSF named 2,000 students as recipients of 2018’s GRFP awards, selected through peer review process from over 12,000 applicants.

The twenty-seven UW-Madison awardees are:

  • Tesia Janicki, PhD student, Chemistry
  • Edna Chiang, PhD student, Microbiology
  • Juan Camilo Bohorquez, PhD student, Physics
  • Benjamin Gastfriend, PhD student, Chemical Engineering
  • Audrey Evans, PhD student, Electrical Engineering
  • Michael Aristov, PhD student, Chemistry
  • Mitchell Ledwith, PhD student, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • Stephanie Blaszczyk-Beasley, PhD student, Chemistry
  • Curran Gahan, PhD student, Chemical Engineering
  • Delia Scoville, PhD student, Biochemistry
  • Kristin Brunk, MS student, Wildlife Ecology
  • Bryan Lakey, PhD student, Genetics
  • Nathan Murray, PhD student, Biochemistry
  • Katherine Mueller, PhD student, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • Aidan McKenzie, PhD student, Biochemistry
  • Natalie Duncombe, PhD student, Economics
  • Camilo Machuca, PhD student, Astronomy
  • Christopher McAllester, PhD student, Genetics
  • Jhewelle Fitz-Henley, PhD student, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Gabriela Negrete-Garcia, BS Degree, Chemistry
  • Kiersten Haffey, undergraduate, Biomedical Engineering
  • Emily Jewell, undergraduate, Engineering Mechanics
  • Hunter Johnson, undergraduate, Biomedical Engineering
  • Celeste Keith, General Course – BS Degree
  • Taylor McKenna Marohl, undergraduate, Biomedical Engineering
  • Lucas Oxtoby, BS Degree, Chemistry
  • Elizabeth Rose Penn, undergraduate, Geological Engineering

In total, the NSF named 2,000 students as recipients of 2017’s GRFP awards, selected through peer review process from over 13,000 applicants.

The twenty-one UW-Madison awardees are:

  • Bayleigh Benner, PhD student, Microbiology
  • Brian Carrick, PhD student, Biochemistry
  • Patrick Cervantes, PhD student, Cellular and Molecular Biology
  • Julie Davis, PhD/Master’s student, Astronomy
  • Alexandra DiNicola, PhD student, Botany
  • Leah Escalante, PhD student, Genetics
  • Christine Isabella, PhD student, Biochemistry
  • Taylor Keding, PhD student, Neuroscience
  • Jesse Kidd, PhD student, Chemistry
  • Samantha Knott, PhD student, Chemistry
  • Elizabeth Laudadio, PhD student, Chemistry
  • Nicole Piscopo, PhD student, Biomedical Engineering
  • Paige Piszel, PhD student, Chemistry
  • Kyle Robinson, PhD student, Biochemistry
  • Taylor Scott, PhD student, Cellular and Molecular Biology
  • Matthew Styles, PhD student, Chemistry
  • Edwin Suarez-Zayas, PhD student, Neuroscience
  • Sydney Thomas, PhD student, Cellular and Molecular Biology
  • Daniel Vigil, BS student, Chemical Engineering
  • Thejas Wesley, BS student, Chemical Engineering
  • Randee Young, PhD student, Genetics